The Appreciation Factor

All things Appreciation: Things to appreciate and the Ways we look at, Show and Think about Appreciation.

I Choose to Carry On

Leave a comment

How are you doing in your efforts to support Random Acts of Kindness Week? I thought I was doing great, but had a setback yesterday.

If you follow my Twitter feed you’ll know that one of my mirror tags was passed along. What I’ve come to find out is that the second recipient was chastised by her boss/co-worker – it’s unknown and less important – to RETURN the tag back to its position on the mirror.  I was horrified and upset!  When I asked the second recipient why, she said, “It was too confusing. It wasn’t clear that I could keep it. Why didn’t you clearly put something on it saying that we could keep it?” She was upset with me and the result that come about from receiving it.

This is the tag.
You are Wonderful

 

 

I was a bit stymied, as to me, a random act doesn’t need explanation. It’s a goodwill gesture. It’s something immediately appreciated and usually gives you the warm fuzzies.  She went on to explain that it should have been explained better (the note and what it meant/what to do with it) as the team didn’t see this as a kind act. “…hat’s not how people here think,” she replied, when I said that a random act of kindness doesn’t need explanation.  I was disheartened my acts of kindness were seen as a bad thing.

Unexpected Kindness2

 

However today, after speaking to the friend who originally wanted to pass it along (she was inspired by the way), I am taking a new tack.  I’ve decided that it’s true that not all understand or appreciate good will, or acts of kindness.  It’s sad but true.  That said, I am going to be a person who helps creates change.  I will continue to move forward with my plans for the week, and ongoing (beyond this week).  If I believe in it (spreading kindness can help create happier and friendlier people), perhaps I can be the change that transforms others to believe and pass it on.  I may be one person, and I know that not all that I contact will be affected, but if I can change at least a few then that helps makes it a better place.

 

How are you doing with your Random Acts of Kindness?
Do you see the results? Have any “back-fired” on you?
What would you do if in my situation?

Let me know what you think

